MITMUNC XII 2020 Committees

MITMUNC features many different committees that embark on a wide array of enthralling topics past, present, and future.

Position Paper Guidelines

Unless the relevant committee's background guide specifies otherwise, position papers should follow these guidelines:

  • One page for each topic.
  • 12-point font, single-spaced.

Delegates should email their completed position paper by January 13 to the email address of their specific committee.

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Tier: Beginner

A specialized body devoted to discussing all things Southeast Asia, particularly focusing on finding multilateral and innovative solutions to challenges that many nations in the region are facing.

Disarmament and International Security Committee (DISEC)

Tier: Beginner

The Disarmament and International Security Committee focuses its attention on issues pertaining to the preservation of global peace and international security.

Congress of Vienna, 1814 (VIENNA)

Tier: Intermediate

Napoleon has fallen. European borders and notions of states lies in shambles. Congress has been called as the dust settles to set a new status quo for the balance of power and intercontinental politics of Europe.

Facebook Board of Directors, 2018 (FB)

Tier: Intermediate

Facebook was shaken at its roots in early 2018 when it was publicized Cambridge Analytica’s use of personal data collected by the social media giant in order to influence US election outcomes. The purview of this committee, which will be comprised of Facebook’s Directors, management team, and associated staff, is to address new concerns that have arisen as a result of this scandal, and push the company in the direction of success.

Imperial Court of the Qing Dynasty, 1840 (QING)

Tier: Intermediate

The Qing Dynasty was established in 1643. By the 1800s, it had reached its largest size, but poverty, rebellion, heavy foreign pressure, and high population growth deteriorated the once great dynasty. The Imperial Court aims to reform society while also tackling the growing tension with the British.

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

Tier: Beginner

The International Atomic Energy Association is designed to promote peaceful and innovative uses of atomic energy, while also monitoring and preventing militaristic uses of these powerful technologies.

International Criminal Court (ICC)

Tier: Advanced

The International Criminal Court, set up under the Rome Statute in 2002, is an intergovernmental body designed to prosecute those accused of genocide, crimes against humanity, and war crimes, among other atrocities. The body may only try individuals under certain sets of circumstances - being that they may only try citizens of their own member states or those that the United Nations Security Council has referred to the ICC.

Joint Crisis (NUGS)

Tier: Advanced

Taking place in 2050 after a post-climate change “apocalypse” that has left the world in an unrecognizable state. Food is scarce, and those who control it have all the power in society. To overpower rivals, massive global food chains like McDonald’s, Burger King, Nando’s, Subway, and Starbucks have begun teaming up with each other to form even larger corporate conglomerates that have expanded their scopes into all sectors, including agriculture, technology, education, and the military. As directors sitting on the boards of these newly formed corporate powerhouses, it will be your responsibility to propel your company above your rivals and bring society back from the brink of shutdown.

Special Political & Decolonization Committee (SPECPOL)

Tier: Beginner

As the United Nations General Assembly’s Fourth Committee, SPECPOL can deal with a wide variety of political topics, which have included peacekeeping, decolonization, and the peaceful uses of outer space.

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

Tier: Beginner

The United Nations Environment Programme is designed to create new, update existing, and provide insights towards optimizing policies that address the environmental concerns of the body’s member states.

UN Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UNWOMEN)

Tier: Beginner

UN WOMEN, which first met in 2011, was designed to promote women’s rights, gender equality, and the empowerment of women on an international scale.

United Nations Security Council (UNSC)

Tier: Advanced

As the Organ of the United Nations tasked with upholding global peace and security, and with the authority to take action to do so, the Security Council addresses pressing issues in dire need of action to promote and maintain global order.

World Health Organization (WHO)

Tier: Beginner

The World Health Organization is focused on addressing the world’s most urgent or prevalent health issues, whether that be through directly addressing an outbreak, providing oversight on healthcare standards, or by installing innovative public health policies across the globe.